Posted by: Mr E | 3 July 2008

Life After Learning

Finishing school isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. I remember the end of Year 11: class parties, shirt signings, videos, cakes and conga lines. Year 13 however is slightly different, as we bow out with nothing more than an unhealthy dosage of stress. There really isn’t a chance to say goodbye to all the friends you’ve made over the course of sixth form (and indeed your entire 7 years of secondary education if your college is handily annexed to your school, as is the case with mine). Nope, it’s all just a bit of an anti-climax with very little closure, and as the summer days roll by you begin to feel a bit of a void in your life.

This is all assuming you decide not to throw a leavers’ party. However such an event isn’t much use when the police turn up at 9pm to shut it down and you find yourself barred from the venue…

The above is just a very long-winded way of me saying that I’m bored. Luckily, despite my previous warbling about my teaching career being on it’s last legs, I was offered the opportunity to teach a little more now that I have the time. First up: Year 12. I was incredibly nervous taking this on, as rather than just taking a class of 6 or so – as I had been doing last term – I was now in command of a group of 30. My bowels stirring at the thought, I decided it would be wise to plan and so I sat down with their (and my former) teacher to do so. We came up with a pretty decent lesson plan, but it actually did little to settle my nerves.

So the lesson rolled around, and the games began. And there were games! In retrospect, I actually had very little to worry about. The lesson went incredibly well, and everyone responded really enthusiastically. I felt surprisingly comfortable up at the front of the class, and they even listened a lot more attentively than my smaller class do, which was nice. In fact, it went so well that one of the Year 12s hung around after the lesson ended to say thank you, which really gave me a bit of a kick and put a smile on my face for the rest of the day.

Relieved? Without a doubt. It gave me the confidence to then help out with the Year 11 induction lesson, in which I told the whipper-snappers a bit about myself and tried to drum up a bit of interest in the dismal science that is economics. This turned out to be a second success for the day, and I was beaming when the bell rang at 3 o’clock.

When I got home, I was greeted with an e-mail from my teacher saying he thought I was excellent. He doesn’t dole out compliments like that lightly, and I felt so proud of myself. Can’t wait for next week!

Leave a Reply

Categories

