Posted by: Mr E | 25 March 2008

Welcome!

I assume that you’ve stumbled here by accident; not many out there go actively searching for a blog on the trials and tribulations of getting into the teaching profession. I also assume that you’re assuming me to be some post-grad beginner teacher who’s on the cusp of undertaking his first foray into the classroom. Unfortunately I’m not. I’m a 17-year-old still months away from University, but one determined to ‘make it (relatively) big’ in the world of education.

There’s one question that may be teetering on your lips right now: why?

I’ve heard it many times before, unfortunately. I’m told it’s ‘a waste’ and that I need to be up there in one of the investment banks, selling my soul to the corporate suits for a hefty premium. But it’s my party and I’ll avoid the rat race if I want to. Really, I think job satisfaction is incredibly underrated. It’s most definitely been overtaken by greed and materialism. People just don’t know when they’ve got enough, and because of that they’re never happy. Luckily I’ve had an epiphany rather early on in my life and realised that regardless of the pay packet, I’m going to get so much joy out of teaching that I can’t not do it. I’ve hit the metaphysical jackpot. Personally, I think there’s no better way to make use of my knowledge than to pass it on.

The road starts here. Join me, won’t you?

Responses

  1. Nice to see another potential teacher chronicalling their progress from one side of the desk to the other. I’ll be reading with interest!

  2. I’d love to join you Mr E! And to hell with those who don’t understand what you are saying. They only want you to be unhappy too so that they can feel better about their own unhappiness.


Leave a Reply

Categories

