Posted by: Mr E | 25 March 2008

Lesson One: Sleep

As all great procrastinators do, I put off doing any work over the extended Easter weekend until today. The only problem being that yesterday didn’t end until about 3am, and I managed to stay in bed way into the afternoon. This is not good for a number of reasons.

Reason #1: My dark circles are worse than usual.

To my shame, I bear a striking resemblance to the Ailuropoda melanoleuca. Budding biologists out there might recognise that as being the binomial name for the Giant Panda. Saying all this without the word ‘panda’ makes me feel slightly better about admitting it, but still the bags really ain’t doin’ me no good. I’m even starting to the think the phrase ‘beauty sleep’ has some merit to it. It sure would be nice to meet new people and not have them think I’ve been in some sort of en route brawl.

Reason #2: I missed breakfast (again).

As a result not only did I have a McDonald’s-themed dream, but the current Monopoly advert became incredibly persuasive, pointing me in the direction of the fast food Mecca of Chicken McNuggets. I actually despise McDonald’s. It’s so unhealthy and I dread to think how much money I blow on junk food. Still, I had a Tropicana rather than a Coke so it’s not all too dreary (for my pancreas at least).

Reason #3: I have essays to write!

Seeing the ‘s’ on the end of ‘essays’ is really very painful. But alas I have Economics and History to contend with in the next 5 hours or so, and if I’m honest the outlook’s not good.

Reason #4: I have a lesson to plan!

Now you may have just jerked your head to the side and ripped a small amount of hair out wondering why I have a lesson to plan. Or you may just be slightly miffed. But I’m actually in theory a part-time teacher! I have my own class in Year 12 who I teach Economics once a week, and get paid for the privilege. It’s actually incredibly helpful and one of the things that’s spurred me in the last few months to decisively say that teaching is for me. I can’t actually remember how I ended up doing it, but for any budding teachers out there: do it! The practice is invaluable and you get to have a ton of fun along the way.

So in all not the greatest way to start the day. And here I am blogging about it, putting it all off again. I really need to develop a sense of when it’s time to go to bed, but I’m constantly thinking “Just 5 more minutes…” and before you know it a few hours have passed!

Responses

  1. Indeed. As a rule, always be in bed by 10:30. No matter what.

  2. But then you miss half of Big Brother. I don’t understand!

    I do understand, however, that by posting my comment at this hour I seem to have learned nothing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

